Going For a Stroll

Going For a Stroll

Hello dear readers and followers, “Going For a Stroll” is my second poem to be up at Coffee House Writers  … please click on the link below and visit my poem at Coffee House Writers … and let me know what you think of my poem, and I would appreciate your support over at my new venture as a writer on CHW… I’ve attached a first stanza teaser below …

Going For A Stroll – Coffee House Writers


Going For a Stroll


When will I be too old?

To be left alone, out in the cold

With my naked words still unsold


When will I be too old?

To be left alone, silently uncontrolled

With my protest poems still brave and bold


When will I be too old?

To stop exploring the rivers yet extolled

With my visionary words still to be told


Who will hold my hand for the last stroll?

When I finally crumble and unfold






Ivor Steven © July 2021

ivor20

G’day, and welcome to my blog site. My name is Ivor Steven, I live in Geelong, Australia. I’m an ex-industrial chemist, and a retired plumber, and a former Carer of my wife(Carole), for 30 years, who suffered from severe MS. I Write poetry about those personal thoughts, throughout and beyond my life as a Carer. I’ve been blogging for over 2 years, and writing poems for 19 years. Of course a lot of my poems are about my favourite subject Carole, but since I’ve been blogging my writings have become quite varied, humourous, mystical, observational, and even a few monster/horror poems. View all posts by ivor20 

12 thoughts on “Going For a Stroll

    • Oh .. I applied a couple of years ago and wasn’t accepted because I was an international, and they weren’t accepting Internationals writers then .. I found out through a friend at CHW that they might take on international writers soon .. she recommended me to the CEO .. I put in my resume and was accepted a month ago. There is nothing like this in Australia, nor as big , and of course my words are now reaching far more readers… my last poem had almost 300 views !! Which all goes well for my book Tullawalla .. I don’t think I am very skilled or knowledgeable about poetry, and when I get through my intern months, I’ll be accepted into their poetry group ..,and that will be a wonderful place for me, and great opportunity to improve my craft. 😊🌏 oh .. and yes I became CHW first international writer .. yep me, from way down here little old Geelong 🌏

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment