Legend’s Shame- Michael Erickson

I once forgot your name,

Upon the edge of this my frosted reign.

Your voice cried out from the deep,

Wondering in who’s arms your memories would keep.

I fled upon a dragon hide,

Watching our world raised by flames as hope died.

And beneath the fear and rising shame,

I willingly forgot your blessed name.

And cast each memory into a vast divide,

Atop this eternal beast did I glide.

And as a sun so bruised and bloodied did rise,

I donned a porcelain mask of lies.

And with your power I carved the world anew,

Cultivating, encouraging and fueling my secret coup.

Blood ran and mixed with fresh snow,

Friends of old fell beneath each solid blow.

Upon our rock I built my throne,

To forget the heart your broke right to the bone.

Let me sit upon this marker of your grave,

And forget the peace and solace I once craved.

Upon this my eternal and frosted reign,

Will I always try to forget your name.


Michael is a husband, father, writer, poet, and aspiring author. He finds time to scribble down his thoughts in the dead of night, between ghosts and night owls. If you’d like to read more of his poetry follow the link here. Or to visit his full blog, ‘The Ink Owl’ click here.

3 thoughts on “Legend’s Shame- Michael Erickson

Leave a comment