THROWBACK FRIDAY: My Man Monologue

My Man MonologueThere once was a lady
that said
among other things
good things
important things
things about staying sober
about how to be a young lady
about making a home
but she also said
don’t marry him

wait…what
why not?

he’s not what you need
what will he ever make of himself?

I married him anyway

I knew he’d
make a best friend
make a lover
make a family
make a career

and he still makes things
like laughter
and smiles
and whatever harebrained idea I have next
and mostly
he makes me happy.

she was so very wrong about my man.

© 2018-2019 – Donna Matthews


Author’s Notes:

The above poem is written in free verse which means poetry with no rhyme scheme or meter. You can learn more about poetry forms here.

Hey y’all, thanks for visiting the Go Dog Go Cafe and I hope you enjoyed reading today’s selection. I am Donna Matthews, a born and bred Texan who can usually be found writing, painting, taking pictures, or traveling the world on foot. I’m all about love, people, sharing, and doing life together and would love to get to know you. I host two blogs…the first, The DJ Ranch, documents my personal adventures while the second, Slay The Chaos, focuses on mindsets, technology, productivity and organization. Come on over for a visit sometime 💙

 

7 thoughts on “THROWBACK FRIDAY: My Man Monologue

Leave a comment