Faded and Blue

wallpaper-830417

 

It began with nothing more than a smile
followed by an innocent hello and hello
a spectral voice calling out of thin air
a seraphic song playing in my lost soul.

Are you a real lover from another life
that’s returned to my breast once again?
I reach into my heart, searching for clues
But each time I’m left empty-handed.

 

When you leave, you take the light
While my questions hang, suspended
nothing but heartbeats fill my sore head
and the feeling our souls have blended.

 

Someday you’ll return, then we’ll know
we had such a shocking breakthrough
the reality which faded to sheerest black
left in its wake hearts, both faded and blue.

 

©2018 Linda Lee Lyberg

 

 

5 thoughts on “Faded and Blue

  1. Pingback: Faded and Blue – The Militant Negro™

Leave a comment