SHE WAS INTOXICATING

By Charles Robert Lindholm 

I had heard
from others
that she was
stunning
but they never could
put it in words
that made sense 

They just said
you will have to
see for yourself 

And so I decided
I would 

I had no idea
what to expect
but I understood
the moment
I saw her 

a marvelous
masterpiece
of physical beauty
but beauty is
only skin deep 

I approached
slowly and cautiously
watching and listening
to her interactions
with others
in the room 

Her voice had
the joy of a songbird
in her words
and as I introduced
myself to her
I looked into her eyes 

And as she held
my gaze intently
she knew what
she was doing
when she
refused to look away 

locked in a look
she flooded
my soul
with her magic
and I was intoxicated
by everything
they told me
everything
I was hoping to hear 

And then
she smiled
and finally
looked away
and it was over 

but I knew
I would never
be sober again 

Copyright © 2017 Charles Robert Lindholm – All Rights Reserved
Inspired by “Basically Me” on Dominiqueben.wordpress.com

 

4 thoughts on “SHE WAS INTOXICATING

  1. Pingback: SHE WAS INTOXICATING – The Militant Negro™

Leave a comment