Spoken Word Spotlight: We Danced With Fireflies

audio-1867121__340

I want to thank everyone who sent suggestions of pieces of writing for me to record for Spoken Word Spotlight.  Ironically, I have had a fierce case of laryngitis since Saturday and couldn’t record anything new for today.  I hope you will forgive me for sharing one of my own pieces that I recorded a few weeks ago.

If you would like me to highlight a piece of your writing, please contact Go Dog Go through our Contact Form or email  us at godoggocafe@gmail.com.

Speak to me of summers past

when cool, damp grass reached for bare feet

with long grasping fingers

as we ran through the night

quicksilver

chasing fireflies through an indigo sky

living completely in the moment

us, on the cusp of adulthood

you, innocently offering cupped hands

to hold moonlight for me

the radiance you captured

carved your image

into my night

me, changed by sudden awareness

of your beauty

and how dear I held you in my heart

 

© 2017 Christine Elizabeth Ray – All rights Reserved

Image by Gregory Crewdson

 

 

6 thoughts on “Spoken Word Spotlight: We Danced With Fireflies

Leave a comment