THROWBACK FRIDAY: Truth-Telling Tree, By Donna Matthews


Check out this tree. It’s a truth-telling tree. See her colors? The deep magenta, the rosy pink, and almost white. The truth she’s sharing is about you and me. I think we all agree, our integrity important. Our yesses yes and noes no. The self we present to the world is known as whole and true. But who am I kidding? There’s three of me. There’s the me I see. And there’s the me you see. And certainly, there’s true me somewhere deep down. Even if I were able to dig down deep enough and brought up real me for you to see, you’d still see me through your eyes. You’ll never see real me…you’ll always be in the way. Many flowers, three colors, one tree.

© 2014-2020 – Donna Matthews


The above is written as prose poetry. A prose composition that, while not broken into verse lines, demonstrates other traits such as symbols, metaphors, and other figures of speech common to poetry. You can learn more about poetry forms here.

Hey y’all, thanks for visiting the Go Dog Go Cafe and I hope you enjoyed reading today’s selection. I am Donna Matthews, a born and bred Texan who can usually be found writing, painting, taking pictures, or traveling the world on foot. I’m all about love, people, sharing, and doing life together and would love to get to know you. I host two blogs…the first, The DJ Ranch, documents my personal adventures while the second, Slay The Chaos, focuses on mindsets, technology, productivity and organization. Come on over for a visit sometime 💙

10 thoughts on “THROWBACK FRIDAY: Truth-Telling Tree, By Donna Matthews

  1. a beautiful reflection of truth and photo!

    We all find our way through the colors of truth, while at our core there is a deeper truth longing to emerge past the shadows and holograms we put out into the world.

    Really love this piece Donna.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment