Guest Barista Devereaux Frazier-Victorious (At A Cost)

jason-schjerven-383577

When I was down

you weren’t there

sucking air underneath

the pressure of your reign

weighted love against the backdrop

of forget and memory

the lies rained down

and planted the seeds of revenge

within the field of my soul

I vowed to take back

and since you were never there

now it’s time for you to remember

life isn’t fair

as the farmer must give

before he can take

I will give you the full measure

of my heart

before you tear it apart

anymore

I will give you the barrage

of scorn and misgiving

as you so gladly had done to me

I will give you the burden

of unrequited pain

both in childbirth and in death

aren’t they all the same

I will tear from you my life

so that you will never be again

the tormentor of my dreams

and the bastard of my days

I will ruin you to the end

even if it means among my fathers

I too

must lay


I’m Devereaux Frazier, an eighteen year old poet and writer from Baltimore, Maryland. I’ve been published eight times on SpillWords, with my piece “Pleadings Against The Preposterous” being nominated for Publication Of the Month of May. I’ve also been published five times on TeenInk, with my story “Less Than Human” being published in the October 2016 edition of their magazine. In addition, Literary Art Review has published three of my poems as well. I am the sole voice of the blog An Aspergian’s Chemical Romance. You can also find me on Facebook.

4 thoughts on “Guest Barista Devereaux Frazier-Victorious (At A Cost)

  1. Pingback: Guest Barista Devereaux Frazier-Victorious – The Militant Negro™

Leave a comment